[svlug] Fwd: domain name lunix.com for sell

kmself@ix.netcom.com kmself at ix.netcom.com
Sun May 28 21:47:17 PDT 2000

I don't usually forward spam, but this came through, suspect others may
have seen it as well.

It would be interesting to know what, if any, trademark claim could be
made on a plausible misspelling of "Linux" under current cybersquatting
laws.  Any LI folks out there listening?

    Whois Server Version 1.1

    Domain names in the .com, .net, and .org domains can now be registered
    with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
    for detailed information.

       Domain Name: LUNIX.COM
       Registrar: NETWORK SOLUTIONS, INC.
       Whois Server: whois.networksolutions.com
       Referral URL: www.networksolutions.com
       Name Server: NS1.WORLDNIC.COM
       Name Server: NS2.WORLDNIC.COM
       Updated Date: 26-jan-1999

    >>> Last update of whois database: Sun, 28 May 00 05:30:13 EDT <<<

    The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .ORG, .EDU domains and

    Found InterNIC referral to whois.networksolutions.com.

       4734 Topeka Avenue
       OAKFORD, PA 19053

       Domain Name: LUNIX.COM

       Administrative Contact, Billing Contact:
          TELSTAR INNOVATIONS INC.,  (TI316-ORG)  no.valid.email at WORLDNIC.NET
          4734 Topeka Avenue
          OAKFORD, PA 19053
          215 355 4959, 1800 459 7788
          Fax- 215 355 2332
       Technical Contact, Zone Contact:
          WorldNIC Name Host  (HOST-ORG)  namehost at WORLDNIC.COM
          Network Solutions, Inc.
          505 Huntmar Park Drive
          Herndon, VA 20170

       Record last updated on 26-Jan-1999.
       Record expires on 26-Jan-2001.
       Record created on 26-Jan-1999.
       Database last updated on 28-May-2000 02:55:26 EDT.

       Domain servers in listed order:


----- Forwarded message from telstarinc at home.com -----

>From karsten  Sun May 28 21:40:12 2000
Received: from localhost ([] ident=karsten)
	by navel with esmtp (Exim 3.12 #1 (Debian))
	id 12wHLX-0005mt-01
	for <karsten at localhost>; Sun, 28 May 2000 21:40:11 -0700
Received: from popd.ix.netcom.com
	by localhost with POP3 (fetchmail-5.3.4)
	for karsten at localhost (single-drop); Sun, 28 May 2000 21:40:11 -0700 (PDT)
Received: from telstarinc ([])
	by mail00.dfw.mindspring.net (Mindspring/Netcom Mail Service) with SMTP id sj3sj0.k3t.33qs884
	for <kmself at ix.netcom.com>; Mon, 29 May 2000 00:30:23 -0400 (EDT)
Date: Mon, 29 May 2000 02:49:27
From: <telstarinc at home.com>
To: <kmself at ix.netcom.com>
Subject: domain name lunix.com for sell
Message-Id: <200005290030.sj3sj0.k3t.33qs884 at mail00.dfw.mindspring.net>

Hi Sir/Madam,
I lost my interest to develop a site ( half done) I want to sell 
domain name lunix.com to  somebody.
The potiental mispelling will bring lots of hits each month! ( 
consider how much hits worth) 
if you have interest call simon tian at 1-800-XXX-XXXX.


----- End forwarded message -----

Karsten M. Self <kmself at ix.netcom.com>         http://www.netcom.com/~kmself
  Evangelist, Opensales, Inc.                       http://www.opensales.org
   What part of "Gestalt" don't you understand?      Debian GNU/Linux rocks!
     http://gestalt-system.sourceforge.net/      K5: http://www.kuro5hin.org
GPG fingerprint: F932 8B25 5FDD 2528 D595  DC61 3847 889F 55F2 B9B0
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 232 bytes
Desc: not available
Url : http://lists.svlug.org/archives/svlug/attachments/20000528/359a5eea/attachment.bin

More information about the svlug mailing list